Our Vision

Global Leadership in Saving Sight

Strong Education, Leading Research and Compassionate Patient Care

Our focus, here at the University of Wisconsin Madison Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences, is you. Our commitment to stop the progression of blinding diseases drives each and every one of us. Our vision is to save your vision through strong educational programs, leading research discoveries and passionate patient care.

Our Mission

To improve vision-related quality of life by collaboratively creating, integrating, transmitting and applying knowledge in ophthalmology and visual sciences.


*Image courtesy of Hoon Lab.

Department Leadership

Department Administration

Terri L. Young, MD, MBA, FARVO
Peter A. Duehr Professor and Chair

Curtis R. Brandt, PhD, FARVO
Vice Chair of Research

Marilyn C. Kay, MD
Vice Chair of Education and Faculty Development

Kimberly E. Stepien, MD
Vice Chair of Clinical Affairs

Andrew T. Thliveris, MD, PhD
Vice Chair of Resident Education

Amy L. Walker OD, MBA, FAAO
Vice Chair of Clinical Affairs

Jessica M. Arendas
Marketing Director

Linda G. Brei, MAT
Strategic Messaging

Linda R. Callow, MBA, CPA
Associate Director of Business Services

Michelle E. Chizek, MBA
Director of Business Serivces

Gillian C.B. Fink, MA, CFRE
Development Director

Christopher J. Geier
Information Technology Director

Gregory L. Hermus, CPA
Research Finance Director

Daniel W. Knoch, MD
Director Medical Student Education

Jana C. Martin, PhD
Assistant Administrator, Education and Faculty Development

Anna C. Momont, MD
Associate Residency Director

Cheryl J. Nagel, LPN
Clinic Operations Manager, UW Health Clinics

Lisa M. Nelson
Clinical Coding Coordinator

Jennie R. Perry-Raymond
Clinical Trials Research Unit Manager

Mary Sue Reilly, RN, MBA
Ophthalmology Clinic Manager, UW Health Clinics

Lisa K. Richardson
Human Resources

Paul A. Zellmer, MHA
Director of UW Health Ambulatory Operations


Barbara Blodi, MD

Fundus Photography Reading Center

Yanjun Chen, MD, PhD

Justin Gottlieb, MD

Gregg Heatley, MD, MMM

Mark Lucarelli, MD, FACS
Oculoplastic and Reconstructive Surgery

Michele Martin, OD

Mihai Mititelu, MD, MPH
Clinical Eye Research Unit Medical Director

Sarah Nehls, MD
Cornea and Anterior Segment

Heather Potter, MD
Ocular Pathology

John Temprano, MD
Comprehensive Ophthalmology

Andrew Thliveris, MD, PhD
Residency Director

Terri Young, MD, MBA, FARVO
Pediatric Ophthalmology and Adult Strabismus


George Beestman, PhD, MS
Principal, Beestman Formulations Consulting

Richard Daluge, PhD
Community Relations Director
Lions Eye Bank of Wisconsin

Loretta Himmelsbach
Former Executive Director, Wisconsin Council of the Blind
and Visually Impaired

Jerry King
Executive Vice President
Skyward International, Inc.

Jeffrey Levy
Senior Director, Phillips Distributing, Inc.

Laurie McCallum, JD
Attorney and Former First Lady
of Wisconsin
State of Wisconsin Labor and Industry Review Commission

Renee Reback
Former Dean Foundation President

Russell Rothman
Chief Executive Officer, Triple R Consulting

Thomas Stevens, MD
Professor and Emeritus Department Chair, University of Wisconsin–Madison Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences


Daniel M. Albert, MD, MS

Richard E. Appen, MD

Suresh Chandra, MD

Nansi Jo Colley, PhD

Ronald P. Danis, MD
Professor Emeritus (CHS)

Richard K. Dortzbach, MD

Ronald Engerman, PhD

Thomas D. France, MD

Paul L. Kaufman, MD
Professor Emeritus

Burton J. Kushner, MD
Professor Emeritus (CHS)

Leonard A. Levin, MD

Frank L. Myers, MD
Professor Emeritus (CHS)

Michael W. Neider
Emeritus Academic

Arthur S. Polans, PhD

Thomas S. Stevens, MD
Professor Emeritus (CHS)

Ingolf Wallow, MD



Our researchers are moving science forward.

We Remember

We Remember

Remembering our colleagues.

India Rotation at Shroff's Charity Eye HospitalAmazing Alumni

Amazing Alumni

Honoring our distinguished alumni providers, educators and mentors.

See all of our team members on our department website.

Right Here